Founded according to tradition in 840 and initially dedicated to Saint Demetrios, the church was dedicated to Saint Bartholomew in 1170. In the 14th century, by now a parish church, it was directly subject to the patriarchate of Grado and, in 1451, to the new patriarchate of Venice. In 1810, after the fall of the Republic of Venice, the Parish of San Bartolomeo was suppressed and the church became vicarial under the jurisdiction of San Salvador. Almost completely immersed in the surrounding buildings at the foot of the Rialto bridge, the church was the cultural reference point of the German Catholic community that resided in the nearby Fondaco and housed their school, decorated with a painting cycle of Marian theme. Rebuilt in the 17th century, the church today houses paintings by Sante Peranda and Palma il Giovane, and the 18th-century high altar by Bernardino Maccaruzzi.